books on a table

Category : Awards

35 PV Students Named as National Merit® Commended Students

Friday , October 07 , 2016

The National Merit® Scholarship Corporation has released the names of the 2017 National Merit® Commended Students. PVSchools is proud to have 35  students from Horizon High School, North Canyon High School, Paradise Valley High School, Pinnacle High School and Shadow Mountain High School qualify for this honor.

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the 2017 National Merit® Scholarship  Program by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

More than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT® receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit® Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

PVSchools National Merit® Commended Students are:

Horizon High School

Samantha DeMoss, Marcus Finks, Cami Illgen, Carl Jones, Vaughan Jones, Lauren Lippman, Caroline Livingston, Allyson Molzahn and Marcus Silverman

North Canyon High School

Eleanor Faussane

Paradise Valley High School

Bennett Harnisch, Sudarshan Kadalazhi, Conrad Leicken, Meghan Marlowe, Lauren Reynolds, Nathan Thomas, Paxton Tomooka and Dawson Tupponce

Pinnacle High School

Parker Bartels, Robert Graham, Emily Kim, Clayton Kingsley, Alexander Maxey, Richard Pepel, Jack Siegel, Allison Tarr, Nicole Van Overmeiren, Katie Wong and Yun Hui Xu

Shadow Mountain High School

Clifton Baggett, Eric Guy, Tyler Kowch, Katherine Preudhomme, Arianna Williams and Cindy Yoo


Learn more about the National Merit® Scholarship Corporation.