After the Bell Fall 2018 Classes

Academic After the Bell Programs

Academic After the Bell Programs are by invitation. Classes run on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:45 PM to 4:15 PM. Bus is available for students who normally take the bus during the regular school day. Classes will begin on Tuesday, September 11, 2018 and end for the semester on Wednesday, December 12, 2018. They will begin resume on Monday, January 14, 2019.

Enrichment After the Bell Programs

Enrichment After the Bell Programs are on Thursdays from 2:45 to 4:15 PM starting September 13, 2018. The Morning classes are from 7:15 – 8:15 AM Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. The bus is not available for morning classes.

Classes offered for 1st semester:

Thursday

  • 1st - 3rd Grade - Games Unplugged
  • 1st - 3rd Grade – Sweet Experiments
  • 4th – 6th Grad - STEM
  • 4th – 6th Grade – Sport Stacking
  • 4th – 6th Grade – Chorus

Mornings

  • 1st – 6th Grade – Art Club (Tues, Wed & Thursday – must attend all days)
  • 1st – 6th Grade – Girl Scouts (Friday mornings)

ATB Classes...

  • "...are fun, exciting, and we get to learn new things..."
  • "...get our brains warmed-up."
  • "...have the best teachers in the world."

Student Pick Up

Pick up is at 4:15 PM. Please follow regular day pick up procedure.

You may follow the line of cars and pick your child up on the west side of the parking lot near the kindergarten playground. Or you may park and walk across parking lot to pick child up. No child is allowed to cross the parking lot by themselves for their own safety.

Transportation

Bus Transportation is provided for those students who live in the Sunset Canyon Elementary boundaries. If you child rides the bus during the day he/she is eligible to ride the late bus.

You may use Bus Finder to find out if your child is eligible for the afternoon Late Bus Run. There is no early bus for the before school classes.

Late Bus Stops for Fall 2018/Spring 2019:

  • E. Beardsley Rd & N. 22nd St. (North Side @ Apts)
  • N. 20th Way & E. Escuda Rd.
  • 22nd Pl. & E. Escuda
  • E. Hononegh Dr & N. 31st Pl
  • 19602 N. 32nd St (Carefree Manor Home Park)
  • 22nd St & Rosemonte
  • 28th St & Beardsley
  • 3150 E. Beardsley Rd
  • 27th Pl & 28th Street
  • E. Morrow & 23rd Pl.
  • 22nd St. & Behrend
  • Blackhawk & 28th St

Calendar 2018-19 School Year

Morning classes will meet 7:15-8:15 PM.

After school classes will meet M-Thurs 2:45-4:15 PM.

 

Before and After School Classes Will Begin on Tuesday, September 11

Download/print the 2018-19 ATB Calendar (PDF) for future reference.

 

There will be NO After The Bell classes at Sunset Canyon on the following dates:

September

  • Tuesday, September 19 – 21 No after school classes due to Fall Recess.

October

  • Monday, October 2 – No after school classes due to early dismissal.
  • Monday-Thursday, October 22-25 – No before or after schools classes due to Parent-Teacher Conferences
  • Friday, October 26 – No School.

November

  • Monday, November 12  – No school due to Veterans’ Day Break
  • Monday, November 19 – ATB Open House.  Tuesday, November 20 – No ATB.
  • Wednesday-Friday, November 21-23 – No school due to Thanksgiving recess

December – (The last day of ATB classes before winter break is Friday, December 14)

  • Tuesday, December 4 – No after school classes due to early dismissal.
  • Monday-Friday, December 17-21 – No before or after school classes  

January – (Before and After the Bell classes will resume on Monday, January 14)

  • Monday, January 21 – No school – MLK/Civil Rights Day
  • Monday-Friday, January 28-Feb 1– No before or after schools classes due to Parent-Teacher Conferences

February

  • Friday, Feb 1– No before or after schools classes due to Parent-Teacher Conferences
  • Monday, February 18 – No school due to Presidents’ Day
  • Tuesday, February 26 – No after school classes due to early dismissal.

March

  • Monday – Friday, March 18-22 – No school – Spring Vacation

April - (The last day of ATB is Friday, April 5)

  • Tuesday, April 2 – No after school classes due to early dismissal.