Governing Board

Five governing board members are elected for staggered, four-year terms. They serve without compensation. The board sets policy for the management of the district, and the superintendent and cabinet are responsible for the execution of these policies. The governing board secretary is Deeann Chisman, whom you can reach at or (602) 449-2298.

View the Board Norms (PDF).

Email the Governing Board.

Governing Board Meetings

Board meetings are open to the public. Regular meetings are typically held on the first and third Thursdays of each month at 7 p.m. in the Governing Board Room at the District Administrative Center, 15002 N. 32nd Street, Phoenix (unless otherwise noted). Study sessions are held as needed for the purpose of studying one or more specific issues in depth. No action is taken during a study session.

Please note: Due to COVID-19, meetings may be held virtually. Reference: Arizona Attorney General's Opinion dated March 13, 2020 (Re: Concerns Relating to Arizona's Open Meeting Law and COVID-19). For meetings held virtually, members of the public may join the meeting via YouTube. Meeting information is noted on the meeting notice and agenda and on the PVSchools website.

The 2020-21 schedule is as follows:

  • August 6, 2020 (Virtual meeting)
  • August 20 (Virtual meeting)
  • September 3 (one regular meeting will be held during the month) (Virtual meeting)
  • October 8 (second Thursday of the month)
  • October 22 (fourth Thursday of the month)
  • November 5
  • November 19
  • December 10 (second Thursday and only one meeting during the month)
  • January 7, 2021
  • January 21
  • February 4
  • February 18
  • March 4
  • March 25 (fourth Thursday of the month)
  • April 8
  • April 22 (fourth Thursday of the month)
  • May 13 (one regular meeting will be held during the month)
  • June 3 (meeting will begin at 5:00 p.m.)
  • June 24 (fourth Thursday of the month and meeting will begin at 5:00 p.m.)

Approved: April 9, 2020
Revised: February 18, 2021 - Revision #3 (Moved April 29, 2021 meeting to April 22, 2021.)
June 25, 2020 - Revision #2 (Moved December 3, 2020 meeting to December 10, 2020.)
April 23, 2020 - Revision #1 (Moved September 10, 2020 meeting to September 3, 2020 and moved April 22, 2021 meeting to April 29, 2021.)

See more details on the 2020-21 Governing Board meeting schedule (PDF).

Download the Governing Board brochure for information on district governance, how you can speak at meetings, and more.


Persons with a disability or needing an interpreter may request a reasonable accommodation. Requests should be made as early as possible by contacting the board Secretary at (602) 449-2298.

Public Notices

In accordance with Arizona Revised Statutes subsection 38-431.02.A.2, public notices and detailed agendas of Governing Board meetings are posted at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting at the District Administrative Center, 15002 North 32nd Street, Phoenix, Arizona. You can also access each public notice and meeting agenda by following this link:

See Board Meeting Dates and Materials 


At the start of board meetings, community partnerships, and outstanding performance by students and staff are recognized. View photos from past Governing Board meetings on our Flickr account.

ASBA Award for Excellence

The PVSchools Governing Board has received the Lou Ella Kleinz Award of Excellence and the Total Boardsmanship Award at the Arizona School Boards Association (ASBA) Annual Conference.